Belief : The difference between you and me!

[Disclaimer: Everything in this post is my views. No one have to quarrel on this and no kind of war (with words, by action) is expected. But you are free to express your way of thinking without flaming and pun.]

This is a big post. But somethings are better explained than summarized. Hope you can follow 🙂

It’s something, I found out, to be very confusing to those who have to spend quiet a long time with me, if they ever have to encounter a conversation about beliefs. So I thought, It’s better to clarify it here. [ I don’t like to explain, to one or to many each time I think there’s a confusion. I just ignore it.] I just don’t care what others think about me. Or what image they create about me. But, the later I thought about it, it went like this, why always give others a chance to doubt/confusion and also without giving a clarification! So here it is…

First, I’d like to start with how one start to believe in one or another!

  • It happens by the people around one where he bought up.
  • By family’s influence. [almost always everyone follows what family believe]
  • Adopted by the influence of some charismatic persona. [happens very rarely]
  • Physical trauma, especially to the head, can also radically alter a person’s beliefs.

Here, I wanted to discuss about religions only, by limiting the scope of ‘belief’.  There are Pagans, Hindus, Christians, Muslims, Buddhists, Sikhs, Zoroastrians, Satanists, Jews, Wicca, Atheists [ there also exist many splits, as in any other religions said before: Those believe in science, nature, etc.] and others. India is a secular country. Here, we all are free to change our beliefs whenever we wanted to. But we are social animals. So social acceptance matters. I’m truthful when I say, we are not that tolerant when we reach there, Alas. People are becoming so blind even though we(Keralites) are nearly 100% literate. Religion become finest and powerful weapon in the hands of politicians. So no hope for an easy recover. That’s truth and it hurts those like me, who, may not be deep enough, but thinks about all these. Religions are created by us, humans, for us. It helps to maintain a good social living, and prevent many from doing sins. But time to time, it’s become a tool for spiritual leaders to cultivate power or to gain something. There’s a level of pure spiritual thing, drawing of human mind’s energy etc. Which I’ll discuss later, if I think there’s a need.


Let me come back to the real purpose, my belief. Many think that I’ve no belief, Many think I don’t respect religions, et. al. But, all are wrong. I do believe.  But not the way most others doing. I believe not to show up. So it doesn’t really matter for me to attend temple, church etc. I believe, god is within us. We don’t want to go to a temple/church etc. for prayers. [ Studies proved that such spiritual locations highly cumulates +ve energy. So going there will provide us some +ve energy, calmness etc.]. By birth I’m an Hindu. Well as many thinks, I don’t consider Hindu as a religion. It’s a mixture of goods and bad from centuries. Todays Hindus are really a group of old Vishnu worshipers, Siva worshipers, Kali(Devi) worshipers, those from ancient unknown belief systems. It also contains bits from Janis, Buddhists etc., So there doesn’t exist a fixed way of worship like there in Christians/Islam etc. One can adapt it to his own way. As long as underlying values remains un-shattered.

Actually, I’m attracted to somewhat higher level of spirituality. It’s not the way of worship, but knowing ourselves. It’s meditation. It’s where religions unites/co-exists. There are many systems of mediation too. But all concentrate on knowing true self. Attaining eternal peace. Although you don’t believe these, studies have already proven that, meditation will help to reduce stress, thus provides peace, long lives, health etc. You may be heard about Sree Sree Ravisanker’s, Matha Amrithanandamayi’s, Brahmakumari’s, Ryuho Okawa of Japan, etc., There are plenty of such Guru’s and organizations. Some provides service freely and some requires a fee. [ NB: In todays stressful world, this too become a business :)].

I believe, there’s a need of a Guru, to teach, guide, and lead us. Which one we choose doesn’t matter as long as they are capable and not fake. They don’t have to marvels [Just in case you think that way ;)]. I decided to go through the path of Raja Yoga by following Sahaja Marg principles. I’m not yet an official practitioner, nor started to accept meditation from preceptors. But I’ll start soon. I’ve been fortunate enough to hear lots of spiritual dialogs and speeches, also read some. This decision is taken by years long debate with myself. It’s just that I’m waiting for an appropriate day to start officially.   Yes, I mediate often, but it’s largely irregular and uneven times. I just need to correct em up. And most of all I believe in Myself.

Hope, this clarifies. I’m not into attack other religion’s beliefs and believers, nor do I consider others low profiles. It’s just that I doesn’t interested in those who try to push em upon me or showing themselves higher. We are all a single family (“Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam” = whole world is one single family – a Sanskrit phrase, similar to African concept Ubuntu) . We all can live with harmony, if only we are willing to be adjustable, understanding, and not blind to truths. Good days ahead…

2 thoughts on “Belief : The difference between you and me!

  1. Meditation is useful regardless of what faith tradition you have. I think we have alot more in common than not. Just seek the Truth and hold to it brother.

Leave a comment